Advancement In Management Competition






This annual award is presented to a Washington, DC, Maryland, or Virginia nonprofit organization for outstanding achievement in organizational management. The process highlights management competence, promotes sustainable best practices, and recognizes innovation that leads to excellence in nonprofit management. 

The award is owned and administrated by the Center for Nonprofit Advancement and presented by Mylestone Plans. 

About the AIM Award: 

The competition incorporates a three-part judging process that includes a part one written application and fact sheet, an invitation-only part two application, and site visits for finalists.

One winner will receive a $20,000 cash grant, national recognition, and sector exposure. Up to two honorable mentions will receive a $2,500 grant award and feedback from a selection committee of seasoned experts.

Learn more about the award process.


The competition is open to any 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization – regardless of budget size/scope of programming – based in the Washington metropolitan area.  The Washington metropolitan area is defined as: 

  • District of Columbia
  • Maryland:  Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, Frederick, Howard, Montgomery, St. Mary's and Prince George's counties.
  • Virginia







Read highlights from last year’s award:

Meet winners of the AIM Award,
formerly known as The Washington Post Award
Read spotlight on our 2017 finalists in our blog.
See Twitter updates from the Award with the hashtag #AIM17

Thank you to our sponsor:

Presenting Sponsor: