The Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman EXCEL Award

The Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman EXCEL Award recognizes and spotlights outstanding leadership among Washington-area nonprofit chief executives. The award recognizes leadership achievement in the areas of innovation, motivation, community building, ethical integrity, and strategic leadership. The selection process includes four stages including nomination, interview, site visit and selection. 

Learn more about the 2015 award

Up to three leaders are selected as EXCEL Awardees. The EXCEL Awardees will each receive a $5,000 professional development account to be used for the individual’s continued professional development.  In addition, each recipient’s organization will also receive a $2,000 grant to support the professional development of the organization’s staff.

Competition for the Center's Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman 2015 EXCEL Award opens June 5 and nominations are accepted through 5:00 pm on July 17. The Selection Committee will continue through the three-step judging process with winners to be announced at the Center's Annual Celebration this fall. Sign up for updates from the competition.

2015 is the eleventh year for this competition, and the tenth year that the Bethesda-based accounting firm Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman is sponsoring the award.

The competition is open to any chief executive of a Greater Washington-area nonprofit organization with an annual budget of $10 million and under. Board members, staff members, volunteers, clients or community members may nominate chief executives.

This award is a program of the Center for Nonprofit Advancement.

Meet our past winners:

2014:   Michelle Asha Cooper of Institute for Higher Education Policy
             Bonnie Fogel of Imagination Stage
             Dr. Sylisa Lambert-Woodard of Pathway Homes, Inc.

2013:   Michele Booth Cole of Safe Shores
             Marla Lahat of Home Care Partners
             Judith Sandalow of Children's Law Center

2012:   Robert Goldman of Montgomery Housing Partnership
             Scott Schenkelberg of Miriam’s Kitchen
             Nina Smith of GoodWeave

2011:   Wendy Gradison, PRS, Inc.
             George Jones,Bread for the City
             Maya Enista Smith,

2010:   Scott Beale, Atlas Service Corps
             Michael Curtin, DC Central Kitchen
             Steven Park, Little Lights Urban Ministries

2009:   Manny Hidalgo, Latino Economic Development Corporation
             Pamela L. Michell, New Hope Housing, Inc.
             Eleni A. Rossides, Washington Tennis & Education Foundation

2008:   Karen Cleveland, Habitat for Humanity of Northern Virginia
             Linda Dunphy, Doorways for Women and Families
             Layli Miller-Muro, Tahirih Justice Center

2007:   Rino Aldrighetti, Pulmonary Hypertension Association
             Lynn Brantley, Capital Area Food Bank
             Mary Funke, N Street Village

2006:   Rhonda Buckley, Patricia M Sitar Center for the Arts
             Jonathan Smith, Legal Aid Society of the District of Columbia
             Adam Tenner, Metro TeenAIDS

2005:   Jayne Park, Asian Pacific American Legal Resource Center

Thank you to our sponsor: